How to Make a Lightbox for Photographing Jewelry.

This is a great article for those who take photos of small and close up items…I’ve got to try this!

Quirky Oak Artisan Jewelry

Photographing my jewelry is one of my greatest ongoing challenges. Like many Etsy sellers, photography is not really my thing, but it’s a critical part of my selling process.

My house is dark inside and surrounded by a jungle of tropical plants so ‘shoot near a window’ doesn’t work for me. I struggle to get crisp colours and a clean background.

But after months of trial and error, and hundreds of grey, gloomy photos, I came up with a solution that’s working pretty well for me—and it’s really simple.

Here’s a bracelet I photographed using my new system:

A bracelet I photographed on my handmade lightbox.

Not too shabby is it? There are loads of websites that show you how to make light boxes from cardboard boxes and tracing paper. And then there are those wrinkly-looking photography ‘cubes’ – but none of them do it for me, so I created my own one.

Drumroll….here it is:

Lightbox made from a plastic box and paper.Like I said, it’s really simple.

My materials:

View original post 596 more words

2 thoughts on “How to Make a Lightbox for Photographing Jewelry.

Leave a Reply

